you are in: Home > Partners > STFC

STFC - Science and Technology Facility Council

The Science and Technology Facilities Council - STFC is one of seven publicly-funded Research Councils in the UK.  It is an independent, non-departmental public body of the UK Government's Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.  It's operations include the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory that is based at Harwell in Oxfordshire (above).
STFC operates or hosts world class large scale experimental facilities including a pulsed neutron source (ISIS) and a Central Laser facility (CLF). STFC is also the majority shareholder of the Diamond Light Source. Overseas the Council operates telescopes at La Palma and Hawaii and manages the UK contribution to CERN, the ILL, the ESRF and ESO. In addition the Council has a broad science portfolio and works with the academic and industrial communities to share its expertise in materials science, space and ground-based astronomy technologies, laser science, microelectronics, wafer scale manufacturing, particle and nuclear physics, alternative energy production, radio communications and radar. STFCs annual Turnover is approximately 843M Euros. Its annual Balance Sheet is approximately 1,107M Euros.